Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Meet the Author!

Well Hey There! My name is Sarah.

I am a twenty-three year old Tennessee native. I moved to Florida with my family in 1995. I started my 'adult life' pursuing a degree in Hospitality and Tourism Management in Ohio. Between the classes I was enrolled in and the on the job training, it didn't take long for me to realize that I was not satisfied with that choice. Within five days, I called my dad, dropped my classes, packed up a two bedroom apartment and drove back 16 hours back to Florida. 

I crashed at my parents house for three months and picked up shifts at a local restaurant. I was very unhappy during this time because I felt like I was a failure, a disappointment and that I was digressing. I have always been a pre-planner, go getter and over achiever (yes, I can admit it). Although it took two semesters out of state and three months of being locked down under my parents roof, I finally listened to my heart. 

I started applying to schools around my area at 3am one morning for the Early Childhood Program. I also, on a whim with no previous paid experience, started applying for teaching jobs nearby. I woke up the next day with several interview offers and an admittance email. Just like that, I found my path. 

I started going to classes at night so that I could get a job in this field during the day. My first job was at a small Lutheran Church preschool as a three-year old teacher. I worked there for a year, finished my schooling, received my CDA, and went by the title: assistant director. I started to see that things were not going as well as I thought there and put in my two weeks. 

Since then, I have earned the title of 'toddler teacher' at a two different centers. I absolutely love waking up and getting ready to see all my little babies, hear their very creative stories and watch them hit milestones. 

Currently, I am taking time off of work and focusing on travel, my life, and personal goals. 


 This would be my adorable and sweet boyfriend, J. He and I have been dating for a while now and it has been a great journey so far. Usually if I am not in my classroom or traveling, I can be found with him. He has transformed me into a big Boston sports fan. We also love the beach, trying new restaurants and movie days! 

And finally, my children:

Well, fur-children. Yoda is "J's" five year old Boston Terrier and Chloe is "my" seven year old Shiba Inu. They are a huge part of our lives and are insanely spoiled well taken care of by us both. 

 I hope you enjoy following me throughout my journeys! 

Thanks for stopping by! 
 photo signature-60.png

2 comments :

  1. It took me a while to find my path too and I am also an overachiever. I can't wait to see what else you write about!

    Lauren,
    http://www.atouchofsoutherngrace.com/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you so much for stopping by! I will be sure to catch up on some of your recent posts!
      Sarah

      Delete

Hi! I am so glad to see you here! Please feel free to leave a comment or email me directly! Make sure you are not a no reply blogger.